Kat Callahan


In Japan for 9 years, Australia for a summer, and South Korea for six months, Kat Callahan has spent most of her adult life after university living outside of the nation of her birth, the United States of America. English and Government teacher, Asia Correspondent for Jalopnik, LGBT writer for Jezebel, she has been included in four textbooks on feminism and women’s health. A fierce proponent of public education, social welfare nets, and multi-ethnic countries, she is an unabashed democratic socialist. She loves Kimagure Orange Road, her legal Japanese name coming from Ayukawa Madoka, never stops singing the praises of her first kindred spirt and bosom friend, Anne of Green Gables, and has the adventures of Nicholas Ewing Seafort committed to memory. She currently lives in Tokyo, but her heart and her home can be found in a small town in Northern Saitama.

Laura Wolk-Lewanowicz

Laura Wolk-Lewanowicz is an Australian musician who has lived in London for the last eight years, moving to the UK to pursue a career in opera. As a dramatic soprano her roles include Tosca, Lady Macbeth and other dramatic Puccini and Verdi heroines, and she has recently performed the soprano solo in Verdi’s Requiem. Laura also works as a pianist, accompanying young musicians for exams and recitals, and playing for young childrens’ music classes.

When not on stage or behind the piano, Laura spends a lot of time watching motorsport (Formula 1 or MotoGP),  going to rock and metal gigs with her English husband, and  is a regular visitor to her excellent local curry house.

Judith Waller

Hi, I’m Judith. When my parents gave me my name, in a hospital in central Manchester, UK, they obviously didn’t give much reflection to the fact that their first born child would move away from the green grass of home, to the snowy mountains of French speaking Switzerland, where no-one would be able to pronounce it properly. Nevertheless, now responding to a variety of Jud’, Yoodit, Yoodeet, it hasn’t held me back, and almost 10 years later, I consider myself well and truly an ex-pat, and that makes me excited to take over this account for a week!


I have predominantly British roots. Both my parents are English, and going back in time, most of my ancestors appear to be British on one side, and British, German and Irish on the other. However, although my parents still live in my native Manchester, my sister lives in Colorado, USA, so both of us have the expat gene! I started my expat adventure when I finished university, and the opportunity presented itself to go to Switzerland for a while. I fell in love with the mountains, scenery and chocolate, so decided to stay for a while. I got a job as a post-doc at the university in Lausanne, and set to work learning how to speak French, to integrate better. I’ve now moved to Neuchatel, where I’ve been working for 6, and living for 3 years.


When I’m not working, I love to travel, and spend time learning about the places I’ll be going to. I’m a passionate sportswoman, and spend a lot of time skiing, paragliding, running, biking, and just generally enjoying the outdoor life that epitomises Switzerland!


I also spend a fair amount of time on social media, mainly Twitter, where I can be found as @judithwaller, my personal account or @JW_PMI, my work related tweets. I’m looking forward to spending my week with you all, and sharing my expat experiences!