Trish Brice

I’m almost 40, married and have one daughter and two dogs. I was born and grew up in New Zealand and begun travelling and living abroad in my early 20s. Most recently I lived in Singapore for 2.5 years before returning home to NZ for 3 months, and then it’s back to Melbourne, Australia where we will “pick up” again after 7 years prior to Singapore.
I am a qualified town planner who dabbles in design, weaving, photography, anything crafty! I love to travel.

Pamela Koselig

Hola everybody!

My name is Pamela, a 29 year-old Mexican girl who has been living in Norway for the last 6 years.

Since I was very little I saw on TV a documentary about the Northern Lights and I immediately fell in love with them, I became very curious about the Nordic countries thanks to that.

For many years I searched around to find an opportunity to study abroad, and before I finished my College degree I found that my University had an agreement with a University in Norway.

I decided to apply and without telling anyone I took the admission exam, many weeks later I got a phone call “Pamela, you passed the exam with very good results and you will have an scholarship… “, imagine the face of my mother when I told her “Mom, I am going to Norway”.

So yeah, I came to Norway to study a double-degree Master program, and I stayed because I got married with a wonderful Norwegian guy 🙂

During the process of looking for information to come to Norway I realized there’s no much out there in Spanish, and I thought it could be nice to do something about it, so in 2016 I decided to start making videos and creating content about Norway in Spanish, and that’s how my project “Pame Koselig” (a mix between my name “Pame” and “Koselig” a very Norwegian word that can’t be translated but that represents the feelings of well-being and comfort) started.

I am a postcard collector, I have a bit over 700 postcards from around the world! And I also collect everything related with “Alice in Wonderland”.

I love traveling, pen-palling, listening to music, going to concerts, doing DIYs and handcrafts, playing video games, reading, and taking pictures.

I hope my week in @WeAreXpats can provide you with a window to our life and our experiences.

You can find me in Instagram and Twitter: @Pame_Koselig

Tamar Godel

Hi, I’m Tamar!

I was born and raised in the US, just outside Philadelphia, PA. My mother lived in Israel for about fifteen years, and my Israeli father has been in the US for going on thirty years, and though we didn’t travel much as a family (it’s hard with four kids!), they always encouraged us to keep our passports updated and explore the world.

My passion is teaching, so the minute I graduated with my teaching certification I hightailed it to Seoul, South Korea, where I teach English. I was here for nearly two years, and then left for six months – two in Europe and four back home. Now I’m back in smoggy, lovely Seoul for (hopefully!) a few more years. I don’t intend to be a permanent resident here (or anywhere), so I see myself more as an expat than an immigrant, but who knows what the future brings!
I was working with preschoolers while I was back in the US, so my current focus is making my travels accessible and comprehensible to very young people. Hopefully many of my posts will be things you can share with your children!

Summer Rylander

Hi everyone, I’m Summer!
I’m a 30-something from the U.S. (Oregon and South Carolina, if you’re curious), and I’ve been living in Nuremberg since late 2015. I’m married to a Swedish guy who works for a German company, which is how I ended up here in the charming region of Franconia.
I’m currently freelancing as a writer, English teacher, and occasional dog-walker. My greatest interests are travel and food/cooking, so I’m usually daydreaming about going somewhere or cooking something. I love reading, the outdoors, good coffee, hoppy beer, and tooling around on the internet.
Curating WeAreXpats is an exciting opportunity to delve into the concept of what it means to be an expat. Learning the language, finding a job, making new friends, the sometimes-quirky differences between the U.S. and Germany—I can’t wait to talk about all of it with our great little Twitter community!

Julian Ward

I’m Julian, a 38 year-old British expat in Los Angeles. I’m global marketing manager for a guitar company, and moved here on a 3-year assignment as part of the team making California the centre of our marketing and planning. I’m here with my wife, Harriet, who’s a silversmith.

My history with travel is…weird. Despite only leaving the UK twice in my first 21 years of life, and my parents never having been on a plane, since joining the company I’m with in 2003, I’ve spent a lot of time on business in Japan and America, and travelled fairly extensively around Europe. But for as long as I can remember, I harboured a desire to live and work in America. After many conversations and a couple of false starts, things slotted into place in 2015 and we finally moved here in February 2016.

Life in LA is fascinating, frustrating, brilliant and awful, all at the same time, and totally different to the expectations I built up spending time here as a visitor. Our experience here has sharpened my sense of what’s really important to me, and given me a renewed appreciation of both the value of here, and of home.

When I’m not at the office, I take full advantage of Southern California’s incredible weather and the mountainous terrain that’s such a stark contrast to what most people think it’s like here. We eat out far more often that we should, because LA is a foodie’s paradise, but sadly Europe still beats the US hands down when it comes to great cocktail bars.

And every day I complain about the traffic. But at least it makes a change from complaining about the weather…

Stephen Dunne

Hi folks, my name is Stephen! I’m an Irish guy living in the beautiful town of Haarlem in the Netherlands. I work as cabin crew (flight attendant) for a low cost European airline. I love to fly, especially when it’s as a passenger, travel is one of my big hobbies. I want to not only see the world but experience it. I’m proud to be an expat!

In other news I’m vegan and a runner, I also enjoy yoga, cycling, live music gigs and craft beer. I like a cosy cafe or being surrounded by unspoilt nature.

Alex Hayden-Gilbert

Hello world.

My name is Alex and I’m an expat. I was born in Hong Kong to two English teachers. We moved to the UK and lived near Southhampton for seven years, after which we moved to Bangkok, Thailand. And 30 years later, I’m still here.

Now I have a Thai wife and 2 half breed kids who are attending a bilingual school here. I’ve spent a year as a house husband looking after the kids.

I enjoy spending my time caring for the kids and they’re the biggest part of my life at the moment. I’m grateful for having been able to be a house husband.

My hobbies are cooking and eating as I frivolously enjoy both. Oh and TV so I love cooking shows. I view them as a way to learn a technique that can be adapted around recipes I read from books. My favorite things to cook include Vivek Singh’s vindaloo curry, mac and cheese for the kids, & mild yogurt curry for the kids — oh and roast chicken for the missus.

Sex Captain Lilly


I am Lilly, a British lady living in Australia. I moved here as my Australian husband wanted to move back from the UK and I tagged along for the ride. Two UK kids and Two Aussie kids here, I am still here and loving it.

I have a unusual job: I work in the adult industry here in Australia, which is fully decriminalised and legal here. I have tons of hobbies that I adore as my mother in law has taught me to cook and bake, garden, grow veggies. Have chooks. We live in the country here, it’s the best place I could be.


I’m Snuva, a Tasmanian by choice rather than by birth enjoying a ‘post-expat’ life on Australia’s island state.

I was born near Annapolis in the US, however I never felt I fit in. Although a typical American mutt, my family was always closest to our Swedish heritage as my father had lived there as a child. My family traveled a lot around the US when I was a child – camping all over in a VW Kombi. That mixed with my feeling of otherness meant that as soon as I foreign languages were offered in high school I signed up (French), added German as soon as I could in community college, and looked forward to exploring foreign places.

I was able to make use of a work exchange programme and spent two summers working for Migros in Switzerland. Living in the centre of Europe was great for weekend travel! After this I spent two years studying in Paris where I finished my BA, then I moved to York in the UK to do a Masters degree. After this I felt directionless; I certain didn’t want to return to the US, but where too next? I spent some time in Sweden, worked in London, house sat in Wales, etc.

A long distance relationship with a friend of a friend meant the next place I wound up was unexpected: Sydney, Australia. I didn’t think it would the the sort of place I like, but in fact it has suited me well. After that relationship ended I decided to move to Hobart, Tasmania – and I’ve never regretted it.

I’ve now lived in Australia more than half my life, am a citizen, have 2 dogs, a son, and a husband – so I don’t consider myself an expat any more. I make a miserable attempt at satisfying my wanderlust with travel.

Martin Gamache

Hi, I’m Martin Gamache.

I’m originally from a small francophone town north of Lake Superior in Ontario, Canada. I immigrated to the US in 2001 after many stints abroad in both Asia (Indonesia) and Latin America ( Peru, Mexico). In 2016 I followed my spouse to China so our daughter could learn Mandarin while her mom chases down business opportunities here.

I’ve worked as a cartographer and graphic editor for most of my professional life so it was quite a change of pace to stop working and be a stay at home dad on a visitor visa for the last 18 months. It’s given me a chance to support my wife and daughter, travel in China and Asia, pick up a musical instrument ( guitar) and immerse myself in a culture that I find very challenging from a linguistic perspective and culturally very different than anything I had experience before.

I’m fascinated with human migration and it’s been a pleasure to discuss the current use and meaning of the term expat with previous curators. I spend my days observing the many migrant workers here in China and often wonder how difficult and lonely their lives must be.  Professionally I’ve worked and befriended many graphic journalists from all over the world who have relocated for work, often without their families. Regardless what we call ourselves, when we move to improve our families’ lives or enrich our own there is no guarantee of success. I consider myself lucky that my choices to live abroad have all been made voluntarily.

In January my family will again be living apart so that I can rejoin the working world as I pursue a job opportunity back in the US. I’ll be an “expat” no more, just another immigrant in the great melting pot that is America.